Meerut division is one of the 18 administrative division of Uttar Pradesh state in India. Meerut division consists of six districts namely- Meerut, Bagpat, Bulandshahr, Ghaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar, Hapur and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner of Meerut. The Commissioner is the head of local government institutions in the division; is in charge of infrastructure development in his division; and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division.